HomeNEWSThe Warehouse Group unveils new leadership changes

The Warehouse Group unveils new leadership changes

The Warehouse Group has removed the roles of chief executive for The Warehouse, Warehouse Stationery and Noel Leeming as part of a leadership shake-up. 

Under the new ‘Leadership squad’ structure, Tim Edwards, currently the CEO of Noel Leeming, will become The Warehouse Group’s chief sales officer. Pejman Okhovat is to shift from The Warehouse and Warehouse Stationery chief executive to chief operating officer.

A press release from The Warehouse Group says these changes “reflect the scale of the group, the strategic opportunity to create a wider ecosystem and the opportunities to share knowledge, skills and delivery across key functional areas.”

“While the brand specific CEO roles change, there is no change to the external customer branding and both Tim Edwards and Pejman Okhovat will be working across the existing brands.”

The leadership squad is part of The Warehouse Group’s implementation of agile ways of working, which will come into effect in August at the beginning of FY21.

The Warehouse Group CEO Nick Grayston says the announcement will not interfere with its FY20 strategy and it will continue to execute according to plan. 

“The future will be dominated by an ever-increasing pace of change and traditional structures are too slow to provide a flexible platform to react at pace to changing customer dynamics. As part of an agile way of working The Warehouse Group head office will move from a more traditional hierarchical structure to one that involves co-located self-managing teams empowered to deliver for rapidly evolving customer needs.  Each team will have clear accountabilities and will collaborate quickly and effectively to deliver to customer expectations and business priorities,” says Grayston.

Grayston says that each member of the leadership squad brings their own skill sets and knowledge that will benefit the new change.

The new leadership squad is as follows:

Group CEO – Nick Grayston – no change

Chief Financial Officer – Jonathan Oram – no change

Chief Transformation Officer – Scott Newton – no change

Chief Digital Officer – Michelle Anderson – no change

Chief Information Officer – Edwin Gear – no change

Chief Customer Officer – Jonathan Waecker – currently Chief Marketing Officer

Chief Sales Officer – Tim Edwards – currently CEO Noel Leeming

Chief Operating Officer – Pejman Okhovat – currently CEO The Warehouse/Warehouse Stationery

Chief Product Officer – Tania Benyon – currently CEO Group Sourcing Support and TWL/WSL Merchandise

Chief Human Resources Officer – Richard Parker (Acting) – currently Acting Chief People Officer

Other brands remain unchanged, although Torpedo7 will adopt many agile principles and cadence, and Simon West will continue the transformation underway in that business. 

TheMarket (which already employs agile ways of working) will continue to operate independently with dedicated governance provided by a delegated committee of the Group Board, and Justus Wilde will continue as CEO of TheMarket.

Rate This Article: