HomeNEWSCountdown celebrates its top suppliers

Countdown celebrates its top suppliers

Image (from left to right): Natalie Davis from MD Woolworths NZ, Nick Bangs from Unilever NZ Ltd, Josh Rich from Unilever NZ Ltd, Dheeraj Sharma from Unilever NZ Ltd, Isabelle Kaa from Unilever NZ Ltd, and Scott Davidson Countdown General Manager Merchandise.

In its annual supplier awards this week, Countdown has highlighted its top suppliers.

The annual awards are also a chance for suppliers to get together with Countdown’s executive and buying teams, recognise the best in the industry and learn about upcoming initiatives.

New to the awards this year is the introduction of a Sustainability Award, recognising the growing importance of this issue with Kiwis.  Countdown is targeting a 60 per cent reduction in carbon emissions by 2030 versus its 2015 levels, and is also undertaking significant work to reduce plastic and packaging across its business. 

Scott Davidson, Countdown’s general manager merchandise, says this year’s awards were another huge success and a great opportunity to meet with suppliers in a less formal environment and celebrate with the winners. 
“It’s so important to take a moment out of the busy retail environment to talk with our supplier partners and also to reward the incredible passion, hard work and excellence that happens every day in our industry.

“Providing Kiwis with more sustainable products and packaging is something we’re really passionate about at Countdown.  We are really excited to see lots of our suppliers really innovating in this space.

The full list of supplier award winners is:

Supreme Winner of the Year: Unilever NZ Ltd

Produce Supplier of the Year: Boyds Asparagus

Sustainability Award:  Turners & Growers Global’s Sustainability Programme ‘Growing Green’

Integrated Supplier Planner of the Year: James Monaghan – Coca Cola Amatil

Own Brand Supplier of the Year: Fruit and Concentrates International (FCI)

Fresh Meat & Seafood Supplier of the Year: SunPork Fresh Foods

Perishables & Delicatessen Supplier of the Year: Unilever NZ Ltd

Bakery Supplier of the Year: George Weston Foods (GWF)

Grocery – Cooking, Baking, Breakfast & Health:  Nestle NZ Ltd

Grocery – Beverages & Snacking: Bluebird Foods Ltd

Grocery – Non Food of the Year: Unilever NZ Ltd

General Merchandise & Pharmacy: Vitaco Health NZ Ltd

Liquor Supplier of the Year: Asahi Beverages

New Product Development of the Year: Unilever NZ Ltd – Vegan Magnum Ice Cream

Account Manager of the Year 2019:  Andrew Johnston – Coca Cola Amatil

Rate This Article: