HomeNEWSCountdown’s top team members honoured at its annual trade show

Countdown’s top team members honoured at its annual trade show

Tom Jones-Griffiths from Countdown Newmarket is the grocery chain’s Store Manager of the Year 2019. He was recognised among other winning team members in a ceremony at the company’s annual trade show in Rotorua.

Countdown general manager operations Brett Ashley says the awards are a fantastic opportunity to celebrate excellence within the Countdown team.

“Our stores and team are part of 180 communities around New Zealand, and it’s great to be able to take a moment from our busy schedules to recognise and reward excellence within our business.

“Each of our winners has demonstrated a number of attributes that are so important to retailing including leadership, caring for our team, and engaging and supporting our customers across the country whether that’s behind the scenes in our online business, buying team and distribution centres, or in our stores.  We congratulate all our winners and thank them for a great year,”

This year’s trade show was held on September 19. It represented the first time Countdown has taken the show to to Rotorua to get together with store and support teams, as well as suppliers.

“We’ve really enjoyed spending time with our suppliers and team and trying some of the new products about to hit our shelves.  We’ve got some exciting plans in place for the coming months and it’s a good time before the busy Christmas season to talk about how we can work even closer together to bring even more value to our customers,” says Ashley.

The 2019 Countdown team winners are:

Store Manager of the Year

Tom Jones-Griffiths – Countdown Newmarket

Checkout Operator of the Year

Keegan Taylor – Countdown Nawton

Countdown Category Manager of the Year

Sam Heveldt – General Merchandise

Online Personal Shopper of the Year

Ashleigh Young – Countdown Rangitikei St

Online Driver of the Year

James O’Connell – Countdown Palmerston North

Forklift Driver of the Year

Rithya Tith – Auckland National Distribution Centre

Truck Driver of the Year

Craig Cowper – Mainfreight Ltd


Rate This Article: