HomeNEWSChecker of the year highlights smooth operators from Foodstuffs

Checker of the year highlights smooth operators from Foodstuffs

Checker of the year highlights smooth operators from Foodstuffs

Top checkout operators from New World, Pak’n Save and Four Square stores around New Zealand have been competing over the last few weeks in Foodstuffs North Island’s 70th annual Checker of the Year competition.

Foodstuffs says the competition has attracted a record number of entries this year. Checkout operators compete on stage against one another while being judged by a team of senior Foodstuffs staff. They’re assessed on speed, presentation, customer service and accuracy as they scan 30 items as quickly as possible while remaining friendly and composed.

Foodstuffs North Island CEO Chris Quin said this competition celebrates the skills of those who are at the front-line of the public’s experience of their local supermarkets.

“Our checkout operators are the face of our business, and this event is an opportunity to shine the spotlight on them and show our sincere appreciation for the contribution they make every day to our success in meeting customer expectations.

“The fact that this is the 70th anniversary of the competition, and that it is bigger than ever before with over 120 stores participating, reflects the value that our staff see in it. It gets quite competitive, but is also a chance to have fun and build relationships,” says Quin.

The Hawke’s Bay region’s finalists were (see title image, names in order from left) Naomi Henry-Baty from New World Wairoa in second place, Brytain Wright from Pak’n Save Napier City in first place, and Jaymie Porter from New World Turangi in third.

The Waikato finalists were (from left) Hannah Parsons from Pak’n Save Mill Street in third, Rebecca Brosnan from New World Matamata in first place and Megan Hay from New World Hillcrest in second place.

For the Northland region, the top three checkers were (from left) Kaiya Turvey from Pak’n Save Whangarei in third, Stephanie Turner from New World Onerahi in first place and Anahshea Harpur from New World Kerikeri in second place.

The winner from each regional heat, held over June and July, will go on to compete against the winners of the nine other regional heats in a mystery shop to take place between August and November. The winner and two runners-up will be announced in November.

Rate This Article: