HomeNEWSTop Countdown checkout operator awarded for 2017

Top Countdown checkout operator awarded for 2017

The annual Countdown Checkout Operator 2017 has been awarded to Rachael Murray from Te Puke, who took the title over 100’s of other nominees. 

Competitions began with in-store assessments where checkout operators were tested by mystery shoppers on their friendliness, presentation, speed, accuracy, and most importantly, their overall customer service.

The top 20 finalists underwent their final testing yesterday at Countdown Ponsonby in Auckland, where they went head to head in the final assessments.

Murry’s win was announced at Countdown’s Gala Dinner Awards as part of the company’s annual trade show.

Prime Minister Bill English presented the gift to Murry along with a $2,000 gift card and Countdown’s must sought after antique cash register trophy.

From Left: PM Bill English, Racheal Murry, managing director Dave Chambers and general manager operations, Brett Ashley. 

Murry says her personality suits the role, and credits her good work ethic and approach to the win.

“I approach my work with the attitude that I should serve all of my customers how I would want to be served, with a big smile and a bit of humour. People don’t want someone who is just going through the motions—they want to have something that is more personal.

 “I’m so grateful and humble to have won this award, and represent all of my fellow checkout operators around the country, “Murray says.

Countdown’s general manager operations, Brett Ashley, says the Checkout Operator of the Year competition is a great way of recognising and rewarding checkout team members that are going above and beyond for their customers.

“Rachael epitomises the level of service that we want our team to be offering our 2.8 million customers each week. It’s fantastic to be able to reward her efforts and I know the team at Countdown Te Puke will be incredibly proud of her.” 

Rate This Article: