Close
Close
 

Got a story? Email editor@theregister.co.nz

 

Are you a digital litterbug?

  • Opinion
  • March 22, 2018
  • Michael Goldthorpe
Are you a digital litterbug?

If a tree falls in a forest and there’s no one there to hear it, did it really make a sound? Pretty much everyone has an opinion on that. It’s the pub chat version of Schrodinger’s cat. But since no one was in the forest, nobody knows the answer. And ultimately, it doesn’t matter. At least not until you ask the same question of digital marketing.

Read more
 
 
 
 

The role of frictionless shopping in today's retail environment

  • Opinion
  • March 15, 2018
  • Craig Herbison
The role of frictionless shopping in today's retail environment

One of the big retail predictions for 2018 is that brands are going to double down on the customer experience: making shopping more personal, engaging, relationship driven and therefore, frictionless. But what is frictionless retail and how will it help our brick and mortar retail environments?

Read more
 
topics
Town centres
A positive retail environment over the past 12 ...
Amazon Arrival
Keeping up with all things Amazon as it ...
The Retail Yearbook 2017
As we battle our way through the busiest ...
Hospitality enhancing retail
Some think food and integrated hospitality offerings will ...
The future is bright
We spoke with four retailers in their twenties ...
Spotlight on signage
At first glance, the humble in-store sign might ...
How to open a store
Sarah Dunn considers what it would take to ...
Red Awards 2016
The Red Awards for retail interior design celebrate ...
Auckland Unitary Plan
Auckland is changing. The Unitary Plan will decide ...
Retail in heartland New Zealand
Retailers keep the regions pumping, but how strong ...
All things to all people
Kiwi retailers share their omnichannel strategies.
Rising stars
Retail's top young achievers.
Delivering on your promises
The sale isn't over until your item is ...
Sisterhood
Women in retail help one another. We spoke ...
The changing face of retail
Shifting demographics are creating big changes in New ...
The retail yearbook
With the help of experts in the retail ...
Retail rogues
We put the spotlight on staff training. Jai ...
Here come the giants
Topshop has arrived in Auckland’s CBD, David Jones ...
Loyalty in the digital age
How are retailers maintaining loyalty? Sarah Dunn, Elly ...
Window shopping: A spotlight on social media
Sarah Dunn and Elly Strang look at how ...
From retail to e-tail
Ecommerce has become part of the way mainstream ...
The Innovators | In partnership with Spark Business
Technology is rapidly changing the retail industry as ...
 
 
 

Paul Keane on exposing niche retail to a wider audience

  • Opinion
  • March 6, 2018
  • Paul Keane
Paul Keane on exposing niche retail to a wider audience

As we walk through our respective commercial lives, we are often exposed to new or different environments that garner a high level of interest, or alternatively are at least personalised to make them different to other like environments. Retail is a typical profession that has the ability to throw up new participants and at times can equally see them disappear as quickly as they have risen.

Read more
 

Three to seven seconds: How to capture your customer's attention

  • Opinion
  • March 2, 2018
  • TSA Limited
Three to seven seconds: How to capture your customer's attention

Three to seven seconds... that's the amount of time a consumer first engages with a product on the shelf, the amount of time a product has to appeal and be chosen by the buyer. As a result, how a product’s packaging looks and feels is a vital part on the path to purchase.

Read more
 
 

Why the business world needs more sustainability champions

  • Opinion
  • February 20, 2018
  • Malcolm Rands
Why the business world needs more sustainability champions

As part of Idealog's 'Can we fix it?' month of climate-change content, Ecostore co-founder Malcolm Rands explains why sustainability is now crucial to our planet, our wellbeing, and the economy, as well as sharing some actions businesses can take to move towards this.

Read more
 
 
 
 

On Michael Hill's exit from the US market

  • Opinion
  • February 8, 2018
  • Paul Keane
On Michael Hill's exit from the US market

At the end of January, Michael Hill announced plans to shut down its loss-making retail operations in the US. RCG's Paul Keane says this is an indication of how tough it is outside the New Zealand market.

Read more
 
 

The rules behind influencer marketing

  • Opinion
  • February 1, 2018
  • The Register team
The rules behind influencer marketing

Influencer marketing is increasingly becoming the advertising tool of choice. Yet despite lax rules surrounding most social media posts, there are still rules and regulations when it comes to retailers using influencers.

Read more
 
 
 
 

Momentum slowing in consumer spending

  • Opinion
  • December 20, 2017
  • Michael Gordon
Momentum slowing in consumer spending

There are growing signs that the slowdown in the housing market is weighing on people’s willingness to spend. Westpac’s recent confidence surveys suggest that consumers remain in a relatively good mood, but spending on debit and credit cards has flattened out over the course of this year.

Read more
 
 

Editor's view: Here’s to the outliers

  • Opinion
  • December 19, 2017
  • Sarah Dunn
Editor's view: Here’s to the outliers

Driving through the central North Island towards Wellington one day a few years back, I passed a shop which claimed to sell computer systems and firewood. The premises were a former service station painted rose pink. It sounds like something out of a dream, but I remember it clearly.

Read more
 
 

Do you need a marketing plan?

  • Opinion
  • December 14, 2017
  • Juanita Neville-Te Rito
Do you need a marketing plan?

Perhaps you have been running your retail store for years and have lost track with having a marketing plan. Perhaps you have never even had one? But if you don’t, then you haven’t focused your attention on who your customer is or how you’ll reach them.

Read more
 
Next page
Results for
Topics
Jobs
About us.

The Register provides essential industry news and intelligence, updated daily. And the digital newsletter delivers the latest news to your inbox twice a week — for free!

©2009–2015 Tangible Media. All rights reserved.
Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Privacy policy.

Advertise
The Register

editor@theregister.co.nz

Content marketing/advertising? Email anita@tangiblemedia.co.nz or call 022 639 3004

View Media Kit

}